The Write Stuff at the Kent Literacy Awards

Nominate nowSubmit book reviewNewsletter sign-up

Judges have gathered for the spring relaunch of the Kent Literacy Awards to find the best reading and writing schemes in the county.

Kent Literacy Awards relaunch at Hempstead House Hotel.

The awards celebrate the most exciting themes and projects used by schools to help pupils build key communication skills that will set them up for life. Nominations are open until the deadline of May 1.

Representatives from children’s literacy charity Beanstalk, Golding Vision (part of Golding Homes), McCabe Ford Williams, and KM Facilities Management Group joined event organisers the KM Charity Team at the awards venue to make a final call for entries and fine tune the planning of the prestigious event.

Nominations for the Kent Literacy Awards can be submitted by any member of school staff, pupils or parents. The 18 categories include Best Use of Drama, Best Use of Art or Poetry, and Most Inspiring Book Corner.

Winning schools will be invited to an awards celebration evening at Hempstead House Hotel, Sittingbourne attended by Phil Gallagher, star of CBeebies’ Mister Maker.

This year, children can submit online or handwritten book reviews for the chance to meet Phil at the Kent Literacy Awards. Click HERE to find out more.

Simon Dolby of the KM Charity Team said: “The awards shine a spotlight on the schemes that are resonating with pupils and getting them excited about communication whether it’s reading, writing, listening or speaking.”

He added: “Winning an award is a real pat on the back to the school as well as a wonderful opportunity to share best practice. The best schemes will be collated, published and circulated to every school in Kent, Medway and Bexley.”

The awards are supported by organisations including Kent County Council, Medway Council, Bexley Council, Three R’s Teacher Recruitment, KMFM, Orbit South, AC Goatham and Son, Whitefriars, Specsavers, and Kent Libraries.

Click HERE to nominate before May 1.

About the Author