Schools celebrate success at awards

Posted On 16 May 2013
Comment: Off


Top school staff and volunteers from around the county have been honoured at the 10th anniversary Kent Teacher of the Year awards.

Finalists attended a special presentation evening at Hempstead House Country House Hotel and Spa in Bapchild.

The awards were organised by the KM Charity Team in partnership with the KM Group and people were asked to nominate the county’s top teachers.

There were more than 350 nominations for categories that included newly qualified teacher, primary, secondary, science teacher and a team award.

Simon Dolby from the KM Charity Team said the event celebrates excellence and achievement in schools.

He said: “Sound teaching can make a huge difference to a child’s personal development, especially to their confidence and self esteem.

“It helps create well-rounded individuals who in turn give back to their community.

“The teachers and support staff recognised at the awards share passion, dedication and commitment to their vocation, they graft hard and give far beyond the call of duty.”

Mr Dolby added that they were grateful to all of the sponsors, Hempstead House, CanterburyChristChurchUniversity, Brachers, Independent Music Productions, Kent County Council, Medway Council, Three R’s Teacher Recruitment, Southern Educational Leadership Trust (SELT), Social Enterprise Kent, Learning Plus, Nova IT Solutions and RVP Video.


The overall Kent winners

Head teacher: Liz Thomas-Friend, HerneInfant School.

Primary school teacher: Charlotte Baker, CuxtonCommunityJuniorSchool.

Secondary school teacher: Frank Prior, Isle of Sheppey Academy (East Site).

Newly qualified teacher: Eloise Beasley, WyvernSchool, Ashford.

Science team: Isle of SheppeyAcademy.

Teaching assistant: Thierry Maillard, MershamPrimary School.

Team award: Life Centre Team, HomewoodSchool and 6th FormCollege, Ashford.

Non-teaching award: Tracy Gooding, Archbishop Courtenay Primary, Maidstone.

Home economics: Jon Sidhu, FolkestoneAcademy.

Learning Plus volunteer: Colin Lawrence, Castle Hill Community Primary, Folkestone.

Literacy teacher: Liz Guyton, BrookfieldInfant School, Maidstone.


About the Author