Teachers take the spotlight

A dramatic prize is on offer for teachers in Kent and Medway who know how to inspire a polished performance.

Andrew Dawson, Head of Creative Projects at The Marlowe. The Theatre has become an Official Partner of the Kent Teacher of the Year Awards.

Andrew Dawson, Head of Creative Projects at The Marlowe Theatre, which has become an Official Partner of the Kent Teacher of the Year Awards.

Organisers of the Kent Teacher of the Year Awards are seeking the best drama and performing arts teachers in the county and for the second year in a row the Marlowe Theatre is supporting the award category with a special reward for the overall winner.

The prize includes two free tickets to shows at the theatre throughout the year plus the chance to stage a school play at new venue the Marlowe Studio. The winner’s class will experience the unique thrill of performing to audiences in a professional state-of-the-art performance space.

Andrew Dawson, head of creative projects at the Marlowe Theatre, said: “We are very happy to support the promotion of teaching excellence and celebration of the vital role the profession plays in our schools, community and culture.

“It is an aim we share and develop through our work and through contributing to the scheme.”

Simon Dolby from the KM Charity Team, which is organising the awards event, said: “I’d like to thank the Marlowe Theatre for once again supporting this category as drama and the performing arts can have such a profound impact on children.

“We want to put the spotlight on those special teachers who are sparking pupils’ imaginations and developing their creativity, communication skills and confidence.”

A number of organisations have announced their support of the Teacher of the Year Awards 2015 including CXK, Kent Sport, Southern Educational Leadership Trust, Brachers Law, Three R’s Teacher Recruitment, Social Enterprise Kent, Project Salus, William Giles Chartered Accountants, Kent County Council, Medway Council, Christ Church University, Marlowe Theatre, Leeds Castle, and the University of Kent including the following departments: Politics and International Relations; School of Psychology; School of Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Sciences; School of Physical Sciences; School of Biosciences; School of European Culture and Languages; and School of History.

The 2015 Kent Teacher of the Year Awards will be staged at Leeds Castle on Tuesday, May 19 to honour around 50 leading members of teaching staff, support staff and volunteers.

The awards will be open for nominations soon via the website www.kentteacheroftheyear.co.uk.

Teacher of the Year logos

About the Author