Roller coaster ride for reading champs

East Anglia pupils will be vying to win tickets to Pleasurewood Hills.

Youngsters will battle it out to be named biggest bookworms in a bid to win a ticket to ride – thanks to an educational charity’s reading contest.

Primary school pupils have been challenged to notch up the most impressive number of home reading minutes in return for tickets to the Lowestoft home of the Wipeout roller coaster.

The competition is open to East Anglia schools signed up to the reading reward scheme Buster’s Book Club, which is run by the Inspire Schools charity. And every pupil in the winning class will receive a child-entry ticket to Pleasurewood Hills Theme Park and enjoy more than 35 rides and attractions.

To be in with a chance of winning, classes must collectively make an extra effort to reach or exceed their home reading targets. The class achieving the biggest or most improved number of reading minutes this month will clinch the prize.

As an extra incentive, the theme park’s mascot Woody Bear will visit the winning school to deliver the tickets in person.

Jane Priston, literacy coordinator for Inspire Schools, said: “We are delighted that Pleasurewood Hills is supporting our literacy work with children. This is a brilliant prize that will get the children even more excited about reading. The park has fun for the whole family from soft play to rides for real thrill-seekers!”

She added: “I have no doubt we’ll see a boost in the number of minutes spent reading and can’t wait to congratulate the winning class.”

Buster’s Book Club uses friendly competition to get schoolchildren to work together to earn the Reading Class of the Week Trophy. Regular inter-school challenges offer bigger prizes including tickets to local leisure attractions.

Organisations supporting Buster’s Book Club include Orbit housing, Specsavers, Rotary, Acorns Read and Grow, and Crown Foundation. Businesses interested in supporting literacy in schools should contact Jane at

Schools can find out more at

About the Author