Search begins to find Kent’s top teachers

The 2019 Kent Teacher of the Year Awards winners and supporters

Kent nomination Gallery Promotional Toolkit

The search is on to uncover the very best in Kent’s educational talent.

The 2020 Kent Teacher of the Year Awards aim to celebrate the dedication and expertise of school and college staff across the county.

Winners will be announced for the county as a whole, its different districts and in categories such as primary, secondary and further education, newly qualified teachers, support staff and volunteers.

To reflect the invaluable contribution that educators make to all sectors of society, the winners will be chosen by a team of judging organisations comprising businesses, third-sector organisations and two of the county’s universities.

The awards are organised by the KM Charity Team, whose acting general manager, Karen Brinkman, said: “It’s impossible to over-emphasise just how important a contribution teachers and other school and college staff make to society, so it is an absolute pleasure and a privilege for us at the KM Charity Team to have this opportunity to help celebrate their work.

“I would urge as many people as possible – parents, colleagues and members of the wider community – to submit nominations for those educators who go the extra mile to make sure young people get the best possible start in life.

“The online nomination process is easy to complete, and with separate winners in Kent’s different districts and not just for the county as a whole – as well as in a broad range of different categories – it will not be a case of just a handful of individuals receiving awards.”

The full list of judging organisations is: Kreston Reeves, Kent Further EducationKape HR, Thinking Schools Academy Trust, KCS, The Education People, Loop CR, Ashford International Hotel, Streetspace, Canterbury Christ Church University, Diggerland, University of Greenwich, Salus, Three R’s Teacher Recruitment and Specialised Sports Products.

The winners will be revealed at a ceremony in mid-May at the Ashford International Hotel.

To find out more and submit nominations, visit The nominations deadline is 11.59pm on March 1.

About the Author